Scout's Honor


Honoring 111-years of Scouting in Hawaii
Monday, November 8, 2021 at 6:00 PM
Virtual Program

Despite the challenges of the ongoing global pandemic, and restrictions to gathering in-person, the Aloha Council has decided to transform its annual in-person fundraising Distinguished Citizen Dinner to a digital event in 2021 that will allow families statewide to tune in to celebrate.

Register to attend SCOUT’S HONOR for a special presentation honoring 111-years of Scouting in Hawaii including the following highlights:

  • Hear directly from Hawaii Scouts on how Scouting in Hawaii has helped them to be resilient
  • Announcement of the 2021 Legacy Leader Award cohort
  • Special message by Rocky Bleier, former Scout, Vietnam Veteran, and 4x Superbowl Champion and NFL player for Pittsburgh Steelers
  • Meals provided by Merriman’s Hawaii
  • Beverages provided by Brix and Stones to include a personal consultation with wine and whiskey enthusiast, Rick Lilley

Select Donate Now to view sponsorship packages, individual ticket information or to make a contribution. All proceeds from the virtual program will stay in Hawaii to underwrite the cost of Scouting, so that we can continue this tradition of developing Hawaii’s youth for another 111-years.

For additional information, please contact Tricia Fetui, Director of Development at or (808) 595-0853.

Donate Now

Mahalo to our sponsors!


$10,000 Leadership Sponsor

$5,000 Exclusive Media Sponsor

$5,000 Eagle Sponsors







Kent & Jean Tsukamoto

$2,500 Life Sponsors


The Matsuoka Family

$1,000 Sponsors

Clint & Suzy Churchill

Lopez Family

Ronald K. & Lella E. Migita Foundation 

All supporters including:


Big Island Candies

Jon Blumhardt

IBEW Local Union 1186

Dr. Thomas & Mi Kosasa

Kimi Takazawa

Tomco Corp.

Walter Vorfeld & Associates

About the Distinguished Citizen Award Dinner

Since 1983, the Boy Scouts of America, Aloha Council has presented Hawaii’s Distinguished Citizen Award to an outstanding community leader. As one of the original recognition dinners in Honolulu, this annual event recognizes excellence and the promotion of Scouting ideals. Its list of previous honorees is a Who’s Who of Honolulu.

Past Honorees have included:
1983 James F. Gary 2001 Warren H. Haruki
1984 Maurice J. Sullivan 2002 Vicky Cayetano
1985 Chinn Ho 2003 Ronald K. Migita
1986 Robert J. Pfeiffer 2004 W. Allen Doanne
1987 John D. Bellinger 2005 Mike May & Carol Ai May
1988 Senator Daniel K. Inouye 2006 Michael J. Fisch
1989 Frank J. Manaut 2007 Governor Linda Lingle
1990 Senator Spark M. Matsunaga
& George Fukunaga
2008 Chuck Sted
1991 Governor John D. Waihee 2009 Mayor Mufi Hanneman
1992 Russel K. Okata 2010 Aloha Council Presidents
1993 Mayor Frank F. Fasi 2011 Chatt G. Wright
1994 H. Howard Stephenson 2012 Peter S. Ho
1995 Senator Daniel K. Akaka 2013 Robert P. Haim
1996 John C. Brogan 2014 Rick Blangiardi
1998 Walter A. Dods, Jr. 2016 Bill Wilson
1999 Don E. Carroll 2017 Dennis Francis
2000 William W. Paty, Jr. 2018 Dr. John Henry Felix, Robert "Bobby" Fujimoto &
LtGen Henry C. "Hank" Stackpole III USMC, Ret.