Council Leadership

The Aloha Council is governed by a 60-member volunteer board of directors and supported by staff.

Meet our council’s “Key 3” leadership team:

Mike Ching

Council President

Jeff Sulzbach

Scout Executive / CEO

Andrea Eshelman

Council Commissioner


The top volunteer position is our council president, is selected through a nominating committee process and elected at the Annual Meeting to serve a two-year term.

The president and board hire the Scout Executive, who guides and manages our council employees. The third member of the council “key 3” leadership team is the council commissioner, appointed by the board, who directs the volunteers that work directly with leaders of Scouting units to help them succeed.

To effectively administer Scouting, our council is divided into districts, primarily by geography, and the same council leadership pattern repeats. Each has a district chair, who leads the district committee; a district commissioner, who directs the unit commissioners; and is supported by a district executive, the staff member serving the assigned territory.

Voting members of the council consist of:

  • Representatives of each of the community organizations who sponsor (charter) Scouting groups
  • Volunteers serving as board members
  • Council officers
  • Members-at-large of the council


Volunteers & Staff

Council volunteers and staff fulfill various specialized functions including camp operations, training and advancement support, leadership/management of field staff as well as fundraising, budget and financial services.

Over 12,000 youth members are led and supported by more than 4,000 volunteers and 25 full-time paid staff, plus 20 part-time and nearly 50 seasonal (camp staff) employees.


Aloha Council Executive Board


Mr. Michael Ching


Ernst & Young LLP


Ms. Andrea Eshelman

Deputy Executive Director



Mr. Dean Hirata


'ike Hawaii

Assistant Treasurer

Mr. Jason Nagai


Ernst & Young LLP

Vice President - Development

Ms.Jean Tsukamoto



Immediate Past President

Mr. Gordon Kagawa


Occidental Underwriters


Mr. Jeff Sulzbach

Scout Executive/CEO

Aloha Council, Boy Scouts of America

Vice President-Relationships

Mr. Mark Benson



Vice President - Marketing

Mr. Jason K. Fujita

Vice President - Consumer Sales & Product Marketing

Hawaiian Telcom

Vice President - Legal

Mr. Jeffery Harris


Torkildson, Katz, Moore, Hetherington & Harris

Vice President - Oahu

Mr. Michael H.Q.L. Lau


Morihara Lau & Fong LLP

Vice President - Programs

Ms. Yvette Maskrey

Hawaii District Manager

Honeywell Smart Grid Solutions

Vice President - Properties

Mr. Corey Matsuoka

Executive Vice President

SSFM International, Inc.

Vice President - Scoutreach

Mr. Ross R. Murakami




Vice President - Membership

Mr. Marc Rousseau


Cades Schutte LLP

Vice President – Hawaii Island

Ms. Helen Shirota-Benevides

Retired DOE Educator


Vice President - Exploring

Ms. Robin Sparling

VP of In-Flight Services

Hawaiian Airlines



Vice President – Members-at-Large

Mr. Franklin M. Tokioka

Chairman Emeritus

Tradewind Capital Group, Inc



Mr. Vic Angoco

Sr. Vice President - Pacific

Matson, Inc.


Dr. Neal Atebara


Retina Center of Hawaii


Mr. Richard Blangiardi

General Manager

Hawaii News Now (KGMB-KHNL)


Mr. Kenneth Bunce

Retired Partner



Mr. Reginald Castanares

Business Manager Financial Secretary & Treasurer

Plumbers & Fitters Union Local 675


Mr. Erich Chen




Mr. Colton Ching

Vice President, Energy Delivery

Hawaiian Electric



Mr. Newton J. Chu

Attorney at Law

Torkildson, Katz, Fonseca, Moore, Hetherington & Harris


Mr. Kenneth DeHoff

Retired Executive Director

Pacific Aviation Museum



Dr. John Henry Felix

Executive Chairman, COO, & CFO



Mr. Dennis Francis

President & Publisher

Honolulu StarAdvertiser/Midweek



Mr. Leo Goeas

Financial Advisor

The Goeas Group of Raymond James


Mr. Jeffrey Grimmer

Vice President & Treasurer

First Insurance Company of Hawaii, Ltd




Mr. Jason Haruki

Vice President & Senior Investment Officer

First Hawaiian Bank, Institutional Wealth Management



Mr. Eric Hashizume

VP Buildings

Hawaiian Dredging & Construction



Mr. Michael Hirai

Metaurus Advisors


Mr. Blake Isobe


N&K CPA's, Inc.


Mr. Robert Jones


Triple J. Enterprises, Inc.


Mr. Stephen Kelly

Vice President - Development

James Campbell Company LLC


Dr. Thomas S. Kosasa




Mr. Gabriel Lee

EVP Commercial Markets

American Savings


Dr. Ronald Ling

Retired Optometrist



Mr. Arnold Martines

Executive Vice President

Central Pacific Bank


Ms. Ashlee Matsui

Director of Construction Operations

SAH, Inc./Savio Group


Mr. Robert S. McEldowney


Applied Safety Management



Ms. Lauren Nahme

VP of Strategy and Innovation

Kamehameha Schools, Strategy & Innovation Group


Mr. Myron Nakata




Ms. Lisa Sakamoto

Diocesan Finance Officer

Roman Catholic Church


Mr. Matthew Sasaki

Director of Strategic Initiatives



Mr. Wesley R. Segawa


Wesley R. Segawa & Associates, Ltd


LtGen Henry C. Stackpole

Retired Lieutenant General, USMC


Ms. Tracy Tonaki

Senior Vice President Development

D R Horton


Ms. Jean Tsukamoto




Mr. Russell Watanabe


Watanabe Floral


Mr. Bennett Wo

Vice President

C.S. Wo & Sons, Ltd.


Mr. Darryl Wong


Imperial Associates Ltd


Mr. Scott Yoshihara

Senior Vice President & Regional Manager

Bank of Hawaii



Mr. Daniel E. Zettle

Vice President & Managing Director Hawaiian Islands / Alaska

Office Depot/Office  Max/Hopaco